Code Orange Kids – Love is Love//Return to Dust – Review

By James Terry  //  Music Reviews  //  No Comments

I will be the first one to admit that I was not sold on Code Orange Kids when I first heard them, then I saw them at West End and the energy they put into their live show really won me over. Fast forward almost a year later the band is now signed to Deathwish Inc. and releasing their first full length lp entitled Love is Love//Return to Dust. Ten new tracks that take an artistic free form through many styles of punk and hardcore, the album has an incredible emotional tidal wave that encompasses you within its wake.

Love is Love//Return to Dust comes out the gate with sludgy bass lines and this thick sound, but then exiting with a guitar loop. They constantly go back and forth with a heavy brute low end sound, but provide these intriguing breaks and transitions creating this rising and falling action that is something to be admired. Some would say that a track like Liars//Trudge is simply filler or just hate that it’s such a drastic shift, but between that and Colors (Into Nothing) creates the perfect distraction and change of pace to make Nothing (The Rat) a bulldozer of a track. I really can appreciate and enjoy what Code Orange Kids does with this record and not falling into any specific sub-genre mold.

This record simply blew me away, I did not expect what I heard and it really caught me off guard and I really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend checking this one out if you are a fan of hardcore punk music, definitely will fall in line with the Deathwish Inc. family of bands. My favorite two tracks off this record are Liars//Trudge and Nothing (The Rat). The official release date is November 20th but pre-orders have already began. I am pretty stoked to see the record release show at Sincerity Fest this Saturday, If you can’t make it to that Code Orange Kids are going to be on the road with Gaza and Full of Hell, be sure to check that show out when it rolls through your town. [James Terry]

Score: 4.75 (out of 5)

Release Date: November 19th, 2012
Record Label: Deathwish Inc.
Genre: Hardcore
RIYL:  Full Of Hell, Expire, Xerxes

Track Listing:
1. Flowermouth (The Leech)
2. Around My Neck // On My Head
3. Sleep (I’ve Been Slipping)
4. Liars // Trudge
5. Colors (Into Nothing)
6. Nothing (The Rat)
7. Roots Are Certain // Sky Is Empty
8. Choices (Love Is Love)
9. Calm // Breathe
10. Bloom (Return To Dust)

Facebook comments:

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

So, Bring On Mixed Reviews : Welcome !


Lost Password


Please contact the administrator.