The Black Dahlia Murder – Ritual – Review

By James Terry  //  Music Reviews  //  No Comments

Can the unstoppable machine that is The Black Dahlia Murder be slowed at any rate? The answer, No! Since the band’s inception they have continually upped the ante with each release. Now with their fifth studio release entitled Ritual. The American melodic-death onslaught continues with their distinct swede influenced riffs and snarling vocals from Trevor Strand. Ritual brings twelve new tracks to this black mass that spans just over forty-five minutes.

If you ever remotely enjoyed any prior Black Dahlia release, Ritual does not disappoint. The riffs are infectious and Shannon Lucas’s drumming will have you hand banging and circle pitting while you burn your sage under the light of the moon. The album distinctly has a slightly more straight death metal vibe at times for example, “On Stirring Seas of Salted Blood.” The solos, oh the solos, while they sometimes feel somewhat formulaic within the song structures they are more mesmerizing than ever. While Ritual doesn’t stray too far from the Dahlia fans have come to expect, this album distinctly throws a few wrenches in the works of those denying the bands continual evolution.

The best part is where the band experiments with straight death metal and tech death styles it works in so fluently without feeling gimmicky like it does with most bands that decide to borrow from genres. In sea of subgenres and the need to overly classify music, I profoundly can say The Black Dahlia Murder is considerably the best American death metal band right now. It is going to be great to hear these new songs inserted into the bands already stellar set list this summer on the Summer Slaughter Tour.

This album is a must have. No bullshit, no gimmicks. With powerful and catchy riffs with devastating drums, and some of the best vocals in the game, if you don’t own this album yet you are a fool. Available in a variety of ways that are certain to please any fan, get this and stop listening to Korn’s new dubstep song it’s not good. [James Terry]

Score: 5 (out of 5)

Release Date: June 14th, 2011
Record Label: Metal Blade Records
Genre: Death-Metal

RIYL: As Blood Runs Black, Job For A Cowboy, All Shall Perish

Track Listing:
1. A Shrine to Madness
2. Moonlight Equilibrium
3. On Stirring Seas Of Salted Blood
4. Conspiring With The Damned
5. The Window
6. Carbonized In Cruciform
7. Den Of The Picquerist
8. Malenchantments Of The Necrosphere
9. A Grave Robber’s Work
10. The Raven
11. Great Burning Nullifier
12. Blood In The Ink



Facebook comments:

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

So, Bring On Mixed Reviews : Welcome !


Lost Password


Please contact the administrator.