Touché Amore – Parting The Sea Between Brightness And Me – Review

By James Terry  //  Music Reviews  //  No Comments

Parting the Sea Between Brightness and Me by Touché Amore crashing in like waves on the break wall. Filled with passion and catchy lyrics and enough hooks to catch enough fish to feed thousands, and I apologize that will be the end of the nautical puns. The band has received a ton of hype and it was well deserved because if you can’t connect with the lyrics or feel the emotion pouring out of the songs, you might just be in denial, but that’s ok.

Out very soon on Deathwish Inc. PTSBBAM brings thirteen songs in just over twenty minutes. The recording is spot on it feels very natural without any real effects so the emotion leaves a very direct impact within each song. The album moves along very quickly with most songs under two minutes, but it simply moves from hook to hook. Although Condelences seems out of place, not so much lyrically just piano seemed out of place on the album.

But, overall the album is great and if you thought To the Beat of a Dead Horse was catchy this is even better. From Tilde to Wants/Needs there isn’t a place on the album where you just do not want to join in chorus “We’ll give new meaning to running away,” along with many other lyrics. Only complain aside from the out of place piano is wish there was a little more meat to the album seems if you blink you miss two songs and it is over, but can’t complain too much there considering my love for power violence and grindcore.

Hopefully, I will have the day off from my awesome dead end job when they come to Cleveland with Title Fight, so if you haven’t ordered the album yet, you should probably get on that or pick up a copy at one of the shows. The albums warm crisp tone matched with its mesmerizing lyrics come together to create some incredible melodies. While they aren’t redefining the genre it is how they are crafting their style that separates them from the pack. [James Terry]

Score 4.5 (out of 5)

Release Date: June 7th, 2011
Record Label: Deathwish Inc.
Genre: Hardcore-Punk

RIYL: Title Fight, Defeater, La Dispute

Track Listing:
1. Tilde
2. Pathfinder
3. The Great Repitition
4. Art Official
5. Uppers / Downers
6. Crutch
7. Method Act
8. Face Ghost
9. Sesame
10. Wants / Needs
11. Condolences
12. Home Away From Here
13. Amends

Facebook comments:

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

So, Bring On Mixed Reviews : Welcome !


Lost Password


Please contact the administrator.